1939: Lest Darkness Fall by L. Sprague de Camp

January 21, 2008

I hated math and chemistry in high school. But if Mr. Gauldie told me I might someday travel back in time to ancient Rome and use my scant knowledge of those subjects to stave off the approaching Dark Ages, I would’ve been more attentive in class. A well-plotted alt/hist classic which proves that a Grade 10 General Science credit in AD 535 is like a license to mint sesterii. Recommended.

On a scale of alternate histories ranging from Yoko Ono breaking up the Eagles to the Nazis winning the Civil War, this book is: a polka-based Woodstock.

"Scusi, do you mind if I...come se dice...alter the course of civilization as we know it?"

Leave a Reply

